Travel Blog #1 – 28 hours later…

IMG_2740

From the moment I left home on the 15th of April at 6:15 am, to the point where I arrived at the SBC building here in Gwangju on the 16th of April at 11pm, it took a ridiculous 28.75 hours. I love travelling as much as the next guy, but I have yet to find a way to enjoy long flights. Perhaps some of you have tips?

Anyhow, the start of my Korea “Excursion” began with an 8-day orientation, chock full of information, teaching tips and advice, cultural experiences and the best part: meeting 60+ people that are just as curious and clueless as I was am. For most of us, the only person we knew in Korea were ourselves. That is probably the reason why everyone bonded so well. Unfortunately, we also knew that we would all be going to the different corners of Korea, and that “goodbye” would be inevitable. I guess this is one thing I will have to get used to if I want to continue living the life of a wanderer. However, there is a bright side! With Korea being so small and having such an extensive web of busses and trains, it is entirely possible to visit someone at the other end of Korea and still make it back by nightfall!IMG_2906

As I stand in my apartment in Naju-si, I cannot help but think:

“This is going to be a wonderful nest”.

I hope you will all join me on this journey, to travel and be amazed with me, and to grow with me.

Until next time,

Richard T.

Trainee Polymath

 

 

Let me know what you think! Leave me your thoughts!

