Travel Blog #2 – First Week of Experimentation: the Saving Grace

IMG_3396
Yeongsanpo Girls Middle School.

Intertwined within those 4 words are the many mysteries I realize I was not ready for. For starters, Yeongsanpo is a new area to me; I have no clue where I am going, where to shop, where to eat, or where to catch a bus. Next, Girls Middle School!? I haven’t even been to a boys middle school. It is definitely different than a mixed classroom. I also haven’t been to middle school for almost a decade, which makes all of this even stranger.
IMG_3370

There have been so many mistakes in such a short span of time. From not knowing which bus to get on, to not being able to communicate with anyone, all the way to simple conversations gone awry with my english co-teachers. I sometimes feel a little alone at school because no one can talk to me. I am going to use this negativity to fuel my need to learn Korean.

To be honest, the main point of this post is to introduce everyone to the man with an indefinite amount of generosity: Marius Van Der Westhuizen. He is the amazing teacher that I replaced here in Naju, and although I have only had one Skype call, a handful of emails, and half a day with him, I can honestly say that he is my lifesaver. His welcoming was above and beyond, and I thoroughly enjoyed the amazing orientation he gave me of the area. So to you, I say this: “I wish you the best of luck in everything you do, and if you ever need anything, just ask”.IMG_3409

All is well though and it excites me just thinking of the
growth I’ll go through in the next two years! Continue
following the blog; there will be more posts specifically
for travel, photography, my general opinions and thoughts,
and other stuff! I tend to put my best effort towards my RebirthofLife!

Until next time,

Richard T.

Trainee Polymath

Let me know what you think! Leave me your thoughts!

